: École des Hautes Études en Sciences Sociales, 105 boulevard Raspail, 75006 Paris, France (room 8)
Partner Institution: Centre Edgar Morin / Institut interdisciplinaire d’anthropologie du contemporain (CNRS / EHESS)
: July 3-21, 2017
Contact: Director, Gabriel Rockhill IMG_2580<gabriel.rockhill@villanova.edu>
Languages: English and French (with summary English translations)
Eligibility: Open to anyone with the requisite background, including advanced undergraduates, graduate students, autodidacts and faculty
Program Fee:
$550 (tenure-track or tenured faculty)
$350 (all others / tuition remission possible for those from peripheral countries) 

The Critical Theory Workshop / Atelier de Théorie Critique is an intensive research program whose primary objective is to provide an international forum for trans-disciplinary and comparative work in critical social theory, in the most expansive sense of the term. Participants are exposed to the work of contemporary thinkers and engage with current debates in the Francophone world and beyond.

IMG_2147The Workshop, which takes place at the Sorbonne in central Paris, does not follow the traditional structure of a course or a conference. Instead, it functions as a collaborative and relatively egalitarian platform for the sharing and perfecting of autonomous research projects. It is comprised of four interlocking components:

  • Débats: invited speakers debate on a common theme or question.
  • Rencontres: intellectuals are invited to participate in interviews on their work.
  • Recherches en cours: invited guests and the director discuss ongoing projects.
  • Groupes de travail: the participants present and workshop their own research.

The overall objective is to bring together a diverse panoply of thinkers from different horizons in order to cultivate productive debates around specific themes and issues. Invited guests for 2017 thus far include Alice Canabate, Philippe Corcuff, Andrew Feenberg, Marie Goupy, Özgür Gürsoy, Marielle Macé, Mary Beth Mader, Patrice Maniglier, Maia Nahele, Jennifer Ponce de León, Bernard Stiegler, Peter Skafish, Sophie Wahnich.

Applications are due February 15, 2017. Click here to apply.

Click here to download the flyer for CTW/ATC 2017.